1947 - 1988



With the granting of full independence on the 4th January 1948  when the country became the Union of Burma, the cap badge was changed to the above design from the old colonial cap badge that had been in existence since 1939.

From independence there followed a long struggle for power within the country between a number of different factions including the Communists. On the 18th September 1988 the Government of the Armed Forces assumed State Power and the name of the country was changed to the Union of Myanmar.

There continued a period of disturbance right up to 1993, when most of the fighting factions came together to form a cohesive government with only a few fractious elements remaining.